Is time for a ships Balance

bszlrd
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by bszlrd »

I already did a request a few months ago. In theory I can calculate it based on the thrust and fuel flow, like ev = thrust/fuel flow (if I'm correct), I just have to convert that mass flow percentangle/sec to an actual mass/sec. (I found the ev calculation in the game source, and if I'm correct, it does the same thing, or something similar)
TheBob
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by TheBob »

Ah right... didn't see how to get the thrust either, so I thought it wouldn't be much use. Turns out you already figured out how to get thrust, though.

So something like this should get you the current DV (you'll need to get the thrust first, of course):

Code: Select all

local stats = Game.player:GetStats()
local mfr = stats.maxFuelTankMass * stats.fuelUse                      --mass flow rate
local Ve = mainThrst / mfr
local curDV = Ve * math.log(stats.totalMass / (stats.totalMass - stats.fuelMassLeft))
bszlrd
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by bszlrd »

It will be unneeded if this get's merged :) (Yay!).
I've already made a deltaV calculator a while ago, with the same equation (except I was unable to find a way to convert fuel use to EV, so it worked only for a given ship.)
TheBob
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by TheBob »

I'd actually like to see Ve and thrust changeable from script. That way we could have deteriorating engines when not serviced. And an occasional engine tuning (nothing gamebreaking, something like "sure, I can readjust your engines to maximise exhaust velocity by 2%, but you'll loose 3% percent of thrust in the process...)

Anyways, it's not currently on my list to go there, too busy with too much other stuff that will require me to make some requests once the proof of concept is stable, so let's not annoy people with stuff I won't be needing for a long time...
Nyankosensei
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by Nyankosensei »

Nyankosensei
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by Nyankosensei »

P.S.
is not possible add to tradeships.lua a check ?

to define whether a ship is atmo capable can check ships.lua, if it have max_atmoshield=0 this ship is not atmo capable, good idea is to add this value to ship market too
Zordey
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:56 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by Zordey »

Hi Nyankosensei,

I have been re-balancing the Venturestar myself while I am making mesh / texture modifications. I notice the sizes you have are quite small for the size of the mesh.

Here is what I am using http://sdrv.ms/H1TROh

These are the capacities and thrusts etc that I feel work, the only thing that probably needs adjusted is the price now that it is substantially bigger.
walterar
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by walterar »

"...probably needs adjusted is the price now that it is substantially bigger."

You think it will be possible to buy without using Ctrl-M? :)
Zordey
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:56 pm

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by Zordey »

Well that is where the re-balance comes in... You have to give people something to aim for. And being able to shift 3000T at at time is bound to be worthy of a bit of a premium :)
NeuralKernel
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:42 am

Re: Is time for a ships Balance

Post by NeuralKernel »

If we're going to have bigger ships... we're going to need bigger guns! :D
Post Reply