Face Generator Art

Topics about the face generator.
DaCo

Face Generator Art

Post by DaCo »

Hey, first time posting here.
I found out about this game recently, so I tried it. The first thing I found was that the faces were butt-fugly. That may leave a bad first impression on players.
I looked in the files and saw that the face generator is pretty easy to mess with. So I started drawing up some new parts to see how it would work.

Let me know what you think.

Please visit my tumblr for more examples of my art and game development (or other stupid things): mrdaco.tumblr.com

Image Image

I've achieved a nice workflow for these facial additions. I've divided my planned work into four very doable releases that can be installed and considered complete by itself.
With each new release it will simply be more complete. Could always use more variety.

TO DO LIST FOR RELEASE 1:
-More female hair
-Some clothing/armor
-A couple more accessories
-Add one more of every facial feature for good measure.

TO DO LIST FOR RELEASE 2:
-Second race
-More clothing/armor
-More accessories

TO DO LIST FOR RELEASE 3:
-Third race
-More clothing/armor
-More accessories

TO DO LIST FOR FINAL RELEASE:
-One more of every facial feature
-A bit more clothing and accessories
-Backgrounds
-As many extra hairstyles and eyes as I can add.
Last edited by DaCo on Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
nozmajner

Re: Face Generator Art

Post by nozmajner »

Definitely continue. :)
I was planning to go for a more painted look, but I'm not fixated on that, especially because of time constraints.
I don't mind cartoony look, favoring it actually. (ubless it's not too cartoony).
Maybe a bit less heavy lines would be more favorable.
Actually the looseness of your self-portrait on your page is closer to what I had in my mind.
DaCo

Post by DaCo »