Updating the wiki mission scripting tutorial

zonkmachine

Updating the wiki mission scripting tutorial

Post by zonkmachine »

Hi!

I've had a go at refurbishing the mission scripting tutorial in the wiki pages a bit. I'm only getting started coding in lua myself but I'd reckon it's all within reach if I give it a month or so. First part updated is: Interacting with the game: Event-based programming, where I've just tweaked it to be correct, no big changes.

I'm now looking into: Interacting with the player: BBS forms, which is a long chapter and a bit heavy on information. I think it could be improved by splitting it into two parts. First part is on strings and internationalization and would consist of paragraphs 1 and 6, Internationalization and Mission flavours. I'll also add a part on string variables, {name}, {price}, etc. First draft almost ready.
zonkmachine

Re: Updating the wiki mission scripting tutorial

Post by zonkmachine »

Q - What am I missing here? I'm trying to make a simple hello program work. It works something like four times out of five.

data/modules/hello.lua

Code: Select all

local Event = require 'Event'
local Comms = require 'Comms'

local onGameStart = function ()
  Comms.Message ('Welcome to Pioneer!')
end

Event.Register("onGameStart", onGameStart)
sturnclaw

Post by sturnclaw »

zonkmachine: there is no fixed order in which event callbacks are executed, meaning that the onGameStart callback that clears the comms log cache as part of a new game can run after the callback in which you've logged the start message. I'd recommend creating a Timer with a half-second delay that is responsible for actually logging the message.
impaktor

Post by impaktor »

@zonkmachine Huge thumbs up for updating the lua scripting on the wiki. It's been on the back of my mind to do for years. I think it was outdated already when I joined in 2013. I think your plan for the wiki sounds good, feel free to take "ownership" of that section of the wiki.