A short introduction

GloriousLaserChicken

A short introduction

Post by GloriousLaserChicken »

Hello all,

First, thanks to impaktor for helping to get my account activated here, it's good to be here with you all!

A little bit about me: I'm a college student in California, studying computer science. I've been interested in video games (especially space games) since I was a kid, and I've followed the Pioneer project on-and-off for a few years. I've built a little bit of a personal portfolio over the years, but one thing I really feel I'm missing is a contribution to an open source project, especially one that's well-maintained, and I've got very little experience working with a team. It's my hope that contributing to the Pioneer project will be very enjoyable, not only because I love this type of game, but also because I enjoy gaining experience and learning by working with others.

I've had a look through the Wiki regarding contributions to the code, and I've downloaded and built the code (I'll take that as a good sign), and had a look through some of it, as well as the documentation; and, of course, I've been playing through the game :) It's quite a lot to look at. Hopefully, I'll be able to make some meaningful contribution soon.

Anyways, that's enough about me for now. I'll see you all here and in the IRC!
Last edited by GloriousLaserChicken on Fri Aug 06, 2021 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
impaktor

Re: A short introduction

Post by impaktor »

Welcome, we'd love to have you!

An easy thing you can start with is just building open pull requests (PRs), and report on github if they work, (basically, if you fail to make them crash). We have very little time to review or test other people's code in general.

There's also many open bug reports, but most of them are vague / hard to replicate, or possibly outdated, or in some mixed state.