English clean-up

Keeper

English clean-up

Post by Keeper »

I don't have the tools or knowledge yet to do a proper PR on github, but I did just rebuild the game from master yesterday so hopefully none of this conflicts with anything. Someone can take care of this, perhaps...?

I just went through all the en.json files to correct mistakes, use proper headline-writing convention for the news headlines (i.e. removing of articles), add some variations to certain repeated texts (e.g. upset passengers), etc. The existing text had many cases where commas were used where full stops or semicolons should be, as well as some spelling errors and other little things. (I was once a journalist and editor by profession, so...)

I also tried as much as possible to standardise the writing into international English. It had been a mix of American and international. I did leave one piece of dialogue with "metric ton" instead of "tonne" as it's possible the speaker may be using American convention.

The updated files are here: http://www.keeper1st.com/pioneer/enfixes.zip

There is still an inconsistency in whether the player is addressed as "commander" or "Commander".

I could, potentially, create a separate set of files so that we can have "English (U.S.)" as a language option, for those who prefer our "maneuver" versus "manoeuvre", "fertilizer" versus "fertiliser" and so on.
nozmajner

Re: English clean-up

Post by nozmajner »

I'll read it trough, cleanup is always welcome.
This will trigger quite a few translation strings to be translated again, but if I'm correct, the translation history will be present on Transifex, so it shouldn't be a lot of work for the translators ( I hope)
Keeper

Post by Keeper »