Ship stat planner

Spacecrafts, buildings and other 3D asset creation
Post Reply
nozmajner
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Ship stat planner

Post by nozmajner »

I've made a simple ship stat planner a few months ago. It was quite unwieldy, so I've ported it to a Blender script.
It can calculate acceleration based on ship masses and thruster power, and it calculates deltaVs too.
Update: I've managed to turn it into a blender addon finaly, and it' even saves the values within the blend file
Image
nozmajner
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by nozmajner »

Updated it, now it's a proper addon, no need for launching scripts and such.
Next step, get it to output a proper shipdef.lua.
torham2234
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by torham2234 »

How do I activate/download this addon? It does not seem to show up in addon menu in Blender.
Nyankosensei
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by Nyankosensei »

In the addons preferences of blender import the file .py
nozmajner
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by nozmajner »

Yes, you install it as Nyankosensei said. Filter the addons for scene, or search for pioneer. It's called Pioneer Ship Planner. It will be in the Scene tab in the Properties window. This way you don't have to select anything to make it show up.
nozmajner
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by nozmajner »

I've updated this little addon.
You can now set the class, manufacturer, model file and equipments and other data too.
It can now output ship.lua file, the export button is at the bottom. It will save it next to where the blend file is, and it will use the same filename too, so you can store these things in the ship source file directly.
All equipment values are the defaults from Pioneer, and they are only written to the file if they are changed, so they won't clutter it up unnecessarily.

Image

And a sample output:

Code: Select all

-- Copyright © 2008-2014 Pioneer Developers. See AUTHORS.txt for details 
-- Licensed under the terms of CC-BY-SA 3.0. See licenses/CC-BY-SA-3.0.txt
-- Generated with Pioneer Ship Planner Blender Addon

define_ship {
	name = 'Amphiesma',
	ship_class = 'medium_courier',
	manufacturer = 'opli',
	model = 'amphiesma',
	price = 168000,

	forward_thrust = 4000000,
	reverse_thrust = 1000000,
	up_thrust = 1000000,
	down_thrust = 500000,
	left_thrust = 500000,
	righ_thrust = 500000,
	angular_thrust = 4000000,

	hull_mass = 18,
	fuel_tank_mass = 24,
	capacity = 38,
	max_cargo = 38,
	min_crew = 1,
	max_crew = 2,

	hyperdrive_class = 1,
	max_engine = 4,
	effective_exhaust_velocity = 22000000,

	max_laser = 1,
	max_missile = 4,

}
impaktor
Posts: 991
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Tellus
Contact:

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by impaktor »

Should this be hosted somewhere more visible? Like on the download page on the pioneer page. "addons/utilities" or is it also linked from the wiki?
nozmajner
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: Budapest HU

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by nozmajner »

I think I'll put it up on the wiki, but I want to check some things before that.
laarmen
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Ship stat planner

Post by laarmen »

This should also be included in the source tree, so that we can update it whenever we change the ship format in the game. Maybe in scripts?
Post Reply