Hyperspace

darckense

Hyperspace

Post by darckense »

Hi all,

I discovered Pioneer a few weeks ago, and I start to enjoy it. :-)
I have some questions about how hyperspace works in Pioneer. From what I saw, a ship can activate the hyperdrive as soon as he takes off, but will arrive somewhere in the exterior of the system.
Is this a desired behaviour ? What is the rationale behind hyperspace ? Is some kind of hyperlimit (defined by the star) preventing to enter hyperspace (and thus necessiting to travel a little bit away towards the outer system) could be implemented ?

I'm not really good with C++ but could you tell me where I should look in the source code if I would like to play with hyperspace ?

Many thanks,

--
Darckense
laarmen

Re: Hyperspace

Post by laarmen »

Well, the rationale would be that when you go really really fast, it is easy to tell precisely where is your starting point, much less where you'll end up — anybody who's flown manually in maximal time accel can attest to that :-)
darckense

Post by darckense »

I got your point, but I suppose that you don't manually pilot with your hyperdrive and instead use some kind of computer assistance. :-) More likely, you will compute in advance your "jump", and let the computer drive you to your destination. The planets position don't significally change during a few days or weeks, so I think it should be easy enought to compute a hyperspace course in advance... :-)

By rationale, I wanted to ask what factors limits hyperspace travel, etc... For example, if gravity is hampering with hyperdrive, it should have some limit around the stars and planets where it is not possible to enter hyperspace. There is the question to where do we put the threshold, for exemple a big "hyperlimit" of 10 AU around the sun, or a much smaller one, which will allow to enter hyperspace from low orbit around the planets.