Life in Pioneer

Ittiz

Life in Pioneer

Post by Ittiz »

I'm a molecular biologist with an interest in astrobiology, who also dabbles in space art and programming. Anyway I think I could make some useful contributions this project.

After playing around with a game a bit I've got a few grievances with the life bearing planets. I noticed a lot of worlds had highly complex ecosystems, but carbon monoxide, hydrogen, helium or some times even no atmosphere. The way I see it life is quite possible on non-oxygenated worlds (used to be deadly to life on earth), however the arrival of oxygen made it's possible for organisms to become multicellular due to the higher energies available. Not saying highly complex ecosystems couldn't evolve without O2. However they would no doubt take a lot longer since life would have to evolve more complex mechanisms to get the needed engery. So it'd be unlikely to find such life beyond the unicellular stage. At least by this point in the universe's development.