Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post Reply
impaktor
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Tellus
Contact:

Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by impaktor »

I've resurrected the system info view part of #1197, anyone interested can find my latest version here: https://github.com/impaktor/pioneer/tree/econ-improv. (I've added translation strings, and (some) analysis of illegal goods, fixed a bug, and merged to master)

Screen shot:
http://s27.postimg.org/z7wcov3lf/image.png
Note: I made Epsilon E. quite liberal on illegal commodities, to better test difference between systems.

Definition used in this discussion:
current system = system the player is in
selected system = system selected in the star map / sector view

For a commodity the following is what I have in mind:
If it is legal in the current system, but illegal in the selected system it shows up as grey under the "Illegal Goods" (e.g. Animal Meat in screen shot).

If it is illegal in the current system, but legal in the selected system it shows up under the Major/Minor Export/Import, but in red. This is not implemented in the screen shot.

If it is illegal in both systems it's red (e.g. Nerve Gas, Slaves), and should not show up under Minor/Major Export/Import at all (as can be seen in the screen shot for Nerve Gas, this is not yet implemented).

Why
If you trade in illegal goods, odds are you most likely want to buy it somewhere where it's legal and sell it someplace where it is illegal. Trading between two systems where it's illegal is less good, but can still be quite profitable especially considering earnings/tonne.

For illegal goods the player need to be a bit more observant, so it will not show up under major/minor imports/exports if it is illegal in the system currently selected. This is not because it can't be a major export, (think about Narcotics being illegal in all countries but still being a major export for some), but because the player should do some work themselves, or alternatively, because the black market should not be so transparent to the player.
eloquentmess
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:23 pm

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by eloquentmess »

I like this! I would like to have better information available for my trading efforts.
impaktor
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Tellus
Contact:

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by impaktor »

OK, I I've now implemented the illegal goods as described above.

If player is in Sol, and selects Kaptayn's star, it looks like this. (again, I've tweaked the factions a bit to allow slaves)
Image

So here, Nerve Gas, Hand Weapons, and Battle Weapons (under cursor) are illegal in Sol, but legal in Kapteyn's Star, so they show up as red in the trade analysis.

Slaves are Legal in Sol, but are illegal in Kapteyn's star, so they show up as gray under Illegal goods. Red if illegal in both systems.
eloquentmess
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:23 pm

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by eloquentmess »

Nice work! Are there any problems with it yet? How can I test this out?
impaktor
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Tellus
Contact:

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by impaktor »

eloquentmess wrote:...How can I test this out?

Code: Select all

git checkout -b econ-improv master
git pull https://github.com/impaktor/pioneer.git econ-improv
make
When done with the testing.

Code: Select all

git checkout master; make
clausimu
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by clausimu »

This seems to work in the Scout+ mod - but not the basic Pioneer package. Any reason why it's not officially included yet?
impaktor
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:54 am
Location: Tellus
Contact:

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by impaktor »

This seems to work in the Scout+ mod - but not the basic Pioneer package.
It is, but in pioneer it now requires a Trade Analyzer to be fitted, (mass = 0t).

Scout+ is on an older version of pioneer when there was no such requirement.
clausimu
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Sane trade analysis in System Info View?

Post by clausimu »

Awesome! I'll look for the device.
Post Reply